Leadership

The CRVA is guided by a 13-member board of directors who collaborate closely with CEO Tom Murray.

Thomas P. (Tom) Murray serves as the chief executive officer for the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority (CRVA), an organization devoted to creating jobs and opportunities in the Charlotte region through the powerful economic impact that visitor spending creates. Nearly 30+ years in the hospitality industry where he managed some of the nation’s largest hotel brands prepared him for this current role.

Before joining the CRVA, Murray served as chief executive officer of Lindblad Expeditions of New York, where he led a financial and marketing turnaround of the 30-year-old ship-based expedition cruise business that operates in alliance with National Geographic.

Prior to Lindblad and among several notable positions, Tom served as Chief Operating Officer for the Americas at Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG).  During this period, the brand Intercontinental experienced a historic period of growth under his leadership. Murray managed hotels for Intercontinental in 23 countries including a large operation in the U.S. and was responsible for revenues of $2 billion. He also managed development and construction, including the successful development of new prototypes for Holiday Inn and Intercontinental.

Tom is a graduate of Villanova University with a Bachelor of Science degree in accountancy.  Murray and his wife, Alison, have two daughters.

 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Executive Committee

Chairman: Bill DeLoache (Doubletree Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village)
Vice Chairman: Tracy Montross (American Airlines)
Treasurer: Theresa Foust (MetLife)
Secretary: Art Gallagher (LevRidge Resources, LLC)
Past Chair: Bridget-Anne Hampden (JHR & Associates)

Audit Committee

Art Gallagher (Chair)
LevRidge Resources, LLC
arthur.gallagher@board.crva.com

Karen Bentley
Mecklenburg County Towns
Novant Health
karen.bentley@board.crva.com

Clarke Allen
General Travel
Clarke Allen Events
clarke.allen@board.crva.com

Matt Hirschy
Equality NC
matt.hirschy@crva.com

Budget Committee

Theresa Foust (Chair)
MetLife
Theresa.foust@board.crva.com

Tom Henson
Limited Service Hotels
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC 
thomas.henson@board.crva.com 

Peter Grills
The Ballantyne Hotel
peter.grills@board.crva.com

Carlos Sanchez
AT&T
Carlos.sanchez@board.crva.com

Nominating Committee

Tom Henson (Chair)
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC 
thomas.henson@board.crva.com 

Bridget-Anne Hampden 
JHR & Associates LLC
bridget-anne.hampden@board.crva.com 

Tom Sasser

Restaurants
Harper's Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@board.crva.com

Bill DeLoache 
Full Service Hotels
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
bill.deloache@board.crva.com

Strategic Planning Committee

Tracy Montross (Chair)
American Airlines
tracy.montross@board.crva.com

Tom Sasser
Restaurants
Harper's Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@board.crva.com

Art Gallagher
LevRidge Resources, LLC
arthur.gallagher@board.crva.com

Bridget-Anne Hampden 
 JHR & Associates LLC
bridget-anne.hampden@board.crva.com 

Dockery Clark
Blue Cap Marketing
dockery.clark@board.crva.com

Visitors Advisory Committee

Tom Sasser (Chair)
General Travel
Harper's Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@board.crva.com

Bill DeLoache 
Full Service Hotels
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
bill.deloache@board.crva.com

Tom Henson
Limited Service Hotels
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC 
thomas.henson@board.crva.com 

Clarke Allen
General Travel
Clarke Allen Events
clarke.allen@board.crva.com

Tracy Montross
American Airlines
tracy.montross@board.crva.com