Leadership

The CRVA is guided by a 13-member board of directors who collaborate closely with CEO Tom Murray.

Thomas P. (Tom) Murray serves as the chief executive officer for the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority (CRVA), an organization devoted to creating jobs and opportunities in the Charlotte region through the powerful economic impact that visitor spending creates. Nearly 30+ years in the hospitality industry where he managed some of the nation’s largest hotel brands prepared him for this current role.

The CRVA is responsible for promoting hospitality, tourism, events and conventions throughout the Charlotte region.  An arm of the City of Charlotte, the CRVA works to deliver experiences that uniquely enrich the lives of our visitors and residents. Brands supported by the CRVA include the Charlotte Convention CenterTime Warner Cable ArenaBojangles’ ColiseumOvens AuditoriumNASCAR Hall of FameCharlotte Regional Film Commission and Visit Charlotte in conjunction with the region’s destination marketing brand, ‘Charlotte’s got a lot.’

Before joining the CRVA, Murray served as chief executive officer of Lindblad Expeditions of New York, where he led a financial and marketing turnaround of the 30-year-old ship-based expedition cruise business that operates in alliance with National Geographic.

Prior to Lindblad and among several notable positions, Tom served as Chief Operating Officer for the Americas at Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG).  During this period, the brand Intercontinental experienced a historic period of growth under his leadership. Murray managed hotels for Intercontinental in 23 countries including a large operation in the U.S. and was responsible for revenues of $2 billion. He also managed development and construction, including the successful development of new prototypes for Holiday Inn and Intercontinental.

Tom is a graduate of Villanova University with a Bachelor of Science degree in accountancy.  Murray and his wife, Alison, have two daughters.

 

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Chairman - Russ Sizemore
Vice-Chairman - Tom Henson
Treasurer- Sabrina Brown
Secretary - Bridget-Anne Hampden
Sports Liaison - Larry Huelsman
Past Chair - Vinay Patel

 

Budget Committee

Sabrina Brown
Sabrina Brown Realty and Advisory Services
sabrina.brown@crva.com  

Bill DeLoache
Double Tree by Hilton
bill.deloache@crva.com

Art Gallagher
Johnson & Wales University
art.gallagher@crva.com

Larry Huelsman
Sports Enthusiast Financial Guy
larry.huelsman@crva.com

Tracy Montross
American Airlines
tracy.montross@crva.com

 

Audit & Compliance Committee

Bridget-Ann Hampden
U.S. Department of Education
bridget-ann.hampden@crva.com

Venessa Harrison 
AT&T
venessa.harrison@crva.com 

Paul Jamison
Jamison Realty
paul.jamison@crva.com

Mary Tribble
mary.tribble@crva.com

 

Strategic Planning Committee

Tom Henson 
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC 
tom.henson@crva.com

Vinay Patel
SREE Hotels
vinay.patel@crva.com

Russell F. Sizemore
Moore & Van Allen
russ.sizemore@crva.com

Paul Jamison
Jamison Realty
paul.jamison@crva.com

Mary Tribble
mary.tribble@crva.com