Leadership

The CRVA is guided by a 13-member board of directors who collaborate closely with CEO Tom Murray.

Thomas P. (Tom) Murray serves as the chief executive officer for the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority (CRVA), an organization devoted to creating jobs and opportunities in the Charlotte region through the powerful economic impact that visitor spending creates. Nearly 30+ years in the hospitality industry where he managed some of the nation’s largest hotel brands prepared him for this current role.

Before joining the CRVA, Murray served as chief executive officer of Lindblad Expeditions of New York, where he led a financial and marketing turnaround of the 30-year-old ship-based expedition cruise business that operates in alliance with National Geographic.

Prior to Lindblad and among several notable positions, Tom served as Chief Operating Officer for the Americas at Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG).  During this period, the brand Intercontinental experienced a historic period of growth under his leadership. Murray managed hotels for Intercontinental in 23 countries including a large operation in the U.S. and was responsible for revenues of $2 billion. He also managed development and construction, including the successful development of new prototypes for Holiday Inn and Intercontinental.

Tom is a graduate of Villanova University with a Bachelor of Science degree in accountancy.  Murray and his wife, Alison, have two daughters.

 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Executive Committee

Chairman: Tracy Montross (American Airlines)
Vice Chairman: Art Gallagher (LevRidge Resources, LLC)
Treasurer: Karen Bentley (Novant Health)
Secretary: Dockery Clark (Blue Cap Marketing)
Past Chair: Bill DeLoache (Doubletree Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village)

Audit Committee

Dockery Clark (Chair)
Blue Cap Marketing
dockery.clark@board.crva.com

Bridget-Anne Hampden
JHR & Associates LLC
bridget-anne.hampden@board.crva.com

Carlos Sanchez
AT&T
Carlos.sanchez@board.crva.com

Budget Committee

Karen Bentley (Chair)
Mecklenburg County Towns
Novant Health
karen.bentley@board.crva.com

Clarke Allen
General Travel
Clarke Allen Events
clarke.allen@board.crva.com

Tom Sasser
Restaurants
Harper's Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@board.crva.com

Kimberly Edmonds
Global Impact Industries
kimberly.edmonds@crva.com

Nominating Committee

Bridget-Anne Hampden (Chair)
JHR & Associates LLC
bridget-anne.hampden@board.crva.com

Bill DeLoache
Full Service Hotels
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
bill.deloache@board.crva.com

Tom Henson (Chair)
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC
thomas.henson@board.crva.com

Tracy Montross
American Airlines
tracy.montross@board.crva.com

Strategic Planning Committee

Art Gallagher (Chair)
LevRidge Resources, LLC
arthur.gallagher@board.crva.com

Dockery Clark
Blue Cap Marketing
dockery.clark@board.crva.com

Tom Henson
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC
thomas.henson@board.crva.com

Carlos Sanchez
AT&T
Carlos.sanchez@board.crva.com

Tom Sasser
Restaurants
Harper's Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@board.crva.com

Visitors Advisory Committee

Clarke Allen (Chair)
General Travel
Clarke Allen Events
clarke.allen@board.crva.com

Bill DeLoache
Full Service Hotels
Doubletree Hotel Charlotte - Gateway Village
bill.deloache@board.crva.com

Tom Henson
Limited Service Hotels
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC
thomas.henson@board.crva.com

Tom Sasser
General Travel
Harper's Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@board.crva.com

Tracy Montross
American Airlines
tracy.montross@board.crva.com