Leadership

The CRVA is guided by a 13-member board of directors who collaborate closely with CEO Tom Murray.

Thomas P. (Tom) Murray serves as the chief executive officer for the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority (CRVA), an organization devoted to creating jobs and opportunities in the Charlotte region through the powerful economic impact that visitor spending creates. Nearly 30+ years in the hospitality industry where he managed some of the nation’s largest hotel brands prepared him for this current role.

The CRVA is responsible for promoting hospitality, tourism, events and conventions throughout the Charlotte region.  An arm of the City of Charlotte, the CRVA works to deliver experiences that uniquely enrich the lives of our visitors and residents. Brands supported by the CRVA include the Charlotte Convention CenterTime Warner Cable ArenaBojangles’ ColiseumOvens AuditoriumNASCAR Hall of FameCharlotte Regional Film Commission and Visit Charlotte in conjunction with the region’s destination marketing brand, ‘Charlotte’s got a lot.’

Before joining the CRVA, Murray served as chief executive officer of Lindblad Expeditions of New York, where he led a financial and marketing turnaround of the 30-year-old ship-based expedition cruise business that operates in alliance with National Geographic.

Prior to Lindblad and among several notable positions, Tom served as Chief Operating Officer for the Americas at Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG).  During this period, the brand Intercontinental experienced a historic period of growth under his leadership. Murray managed hotels for Intercontinental in 23 countries including a large operation in the U.S. and was responsible for revenues of $2 billion. He also managed development and construction, including the successful development of new prototypes for Holiday Inn and Intercontinental.

Tom is a graduate of Villanova University with a Bachelor of Science degree in accountancy.  Murray and his wife, Alison, have two daughters.

 

Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Chairman: Bridget-Anne Hampden ( JHR & Associates LLC
Vice Chairman: Bill DeLoache (Double Tree by Hilton)
Treasurer: Paul Jamison (Jamison Realty)
Secretary: Tracy Montross (American Airlines)
Past Chair: Tom Henson (Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC)

Audit Committee

Tracy Montross (Chair)
American Airlines
tracy.montross@crva.com

Russell F. Sizemore
Moore & Van Allen
russ.sizemore@crva.com

Art Gallagher
Johnson & Wales University
art.gallagher@crva.com

Dockery Clark
Blue Cap Marketing
dockery.clark@crva.com

Budget Committee

Paul Jamison (Chair)
Jamison Realty
paul.jamison@crva.com

Kevin Henry
Extended Stay America
kevin.henry@crva.com

Tom Sasser
Harpers Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@crva.com

Nominating Committee

Russell F. Sizemore (Chair)
Moore & Van Allen
russ.sizemore@crva.com 

Bridget-Anne Hampden
 JHR & Associates LLC
bridget-anne.hampden@crva.com

Paul Jamison
Jamison Realty
paul.jamison@crva.com

Strategic Planning Committee

Bill Deloache (Chair)
Double Tree by Hilton
bill.deloache@crva.com

Bridget-Anne Hampden
 JHR & Associates LLC
bridget-anne.hampden@crva.com 

Tom Henson 
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC 
tom.henson@crva.com 

Venessa Harrison
AT&T
venessa.harrison@crva.com

Theresa Foust
MetLife
theresa.foust@crva.com

Visitors Advisory Committee

Tom Henson (Chair)
Limited Service Hotels
Henson-Tomlin Interests, LLC 
tom.henson@crva.com 

Bill Deloache
Full Service Hotels
Double Tree by Hilton
bill.deloache@crva.com

Art Gallagher
Restaurants
Johnson & Wales University
art.gallagher@crva.com

Tom Sasser
General Travel
Harpers Restaurant Group
tom.sasser@crva.com